Two CCU professors are among 10 nationwide recipients to be honored with the “Outstanding Engineering Professor Award”

This is an image
National Chung Cheng University (CCU) professors, Prof. Gary W. Chang, Vice President of CCU and Prof. De-Shin Liu, Director of the Advanced Institute of Manufacturing with High-Tech Innovations, received the 2019 “Outstanding Engineering Professor Award,” a prestigious award given to only 10 recipients in Taiwan by the Chinese Institute of Engineers.
Prof. Chang of the Department of Electrical Engineering, is an internationally recognized scholar in the field of power quality. Equally active in the industry and academia, he is also the only Taiwanese to have an important leadership role in the IEEE Power & Energy Society. Since 2000, Prof. Chang has guided more than a hundred master’s and doctoral students and completed more than 90 research projects for the Ministry of Science and Technology (MOST) and the industry. He has also been implementing MOST’s National Energy Program for the last 10 years. To date, Prof. Chang has published more than 300 international journal articles, conference dissertations, and teaching materials on electric power. He has also edited and written over 80 technical and research reports that were published in reference books.
Prof. De-Shin Liu of the Department of Mechanical Engineering specializes in the fields of mechatronics analysis, innovative numerical methods, and microscopic experimental mechanics. He is eminent in precision machinery structural design and computational mechanics, and is also a pioneer of the dynamic infinite element method. Over the years, he has published 84 SCI-ranked journal articles and independently developed the multi-particle and dynamic infinite element method, paving the way for new research directions in the field of numerical analysis methods.